£9.9
FREE Shipping

Little Darlings

Little Darlings

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Much as I'm reluctant to resort to book-marketing cliches, Little Darlings really feels like it could be the thriller of the summer; I've already witnessed some buzzing about it on social media. While in hospital Lauren reports that someone has tried to abduct her babies, the doctors put this down to hallucinations caused by tiredness. Since we have Lauren's perspective, we are able to follow along firsthand with what's happening and experience exactly what Lauren sees. The English major in me who wrote a term paper about William Butler Yeats is dying to get into an overly in-depth conversation about folklore.

Debs gets in contact with Destiny and Kate, and offers them a chance to be on Little Darlings and meet Danny. In terms of this being a mystery thriller, the story actually takes quite a predictable path, so what you think is happening at the start is exactly what it turns out to be, however, it’s also ambiguous and leaves the reader asking questions. Dark, compelling and terrifyingly relatable, Little Darlings takes every parent’s worst fear and deftly twists it into something even more horrific. And yet, Lauren claims that she keeps seeing the woman and that her babies are in danger, and soon Harper is sucked into Lauren’s spiral of fear. After all that though, I am glad I did finish it otherwise I would have regretted it even though I didn't particularly enjoy it.Destiny wins first place in the talent show and sends a DVD to Sunset of it and at the climax of the book, Sunset shows Destiny's DVD to the show "Little Darlings" producer and at the end we see how Destiny comes to Robin Hill and Danny's house in a limousine and is welcomed, albeit for the cameras, as one of Danny's talented daughters. As part of Destiny's eleventh birthday, Kate has arranged they go to the London premiere of the film "Milky Star", in which Danny has a cameo as himself, where hopefully they'll be able to meet him and tell him Destiny is his daughter. I never knew that Destiny and Sunset would be half-sisters and I think that Jacqueline Wilson added a twist to Little Darlings. The book explores two sides of the spectrum; working class and the rich and famous upper class but in an interesting way pushes the two together. A psychological thriller and a half, the opening chapter of which made the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end and chilled me to my core!

I started reading the Spiderwick Chronicles in elementary school and went on a little fairy binge; maybe it’s more common in children’s books? As a word of caution, if you're sensitive to children in danger, traumatic childbirth scenarios, or anything involving children, really, then keep in mind that this plays with those element quite a bit--it is a story centered around changelings, after all. These Girls are missing something and they did not know it until they met in the middle of the night one day….Jacqueline Wilson's latest guaranteed bestseller shines the spotlight onto the crazy world of celebrity. I've recommended Gillian Flynn's novels ( Sharp Objects is my favourite) before, but they're my go-to for good dark novels that are as much thriller as psychodrama.

Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking―and rechecking―your own little ones. I enjoyed both of them as characters and wish this had been more of a focus as the majority of the book favours detailing different events that show how incompetent each parent is, which felt dragged out after a while.

The two main characters, Sunset and Destiny, were two completely different characters in the beginning and then in the middle they became very alike and close. Lauren doesn’t understand why no one else can see this, but everyone thinks that the pressures must have finally gotten to her, that the twin’s brief disappearance was what broke her mind. Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimms’ Fairy Tales, and Aimee Molloy's The Perfect Mother. Sunset, Sweetie and Ace all hate her but Suzy even more so as she is very protective of Danny and despises Lizzie very much.

I picked this book up on a whim, I’d heard good things about it and after enjoying I See You so much, I wanted another quick thriller to read. The writing leans much heavier in the literary and folklore realm than a traditional thriller and the pacing is also a bit steadier than a fast-paced thriller. As well as winning many awards for her books, including the Children's Book of the Year, Jacqueline is a former Children's Laureate, and in 2008 she was appointed a Dame. She used to be a model before she had children, she is going through an "emotional process" throughout the book and generally doesn't appreciate Sunset but hates her even more when she brings up Destiny to Danny.

I think generally the child is exchanged with another creature, generally a sickly fairy child, which can look like the original child because it can change its shape.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop